Skip to content
n8nhosts

True cost

What n8n really costs at 2,500, 10,000, and 50,000 executions a month

Prices checked . Docs and the n8n pricing page re-read . Renewal is the steady-state price. An em dash means the dataset does not have the figure.

Heuristic to test — not a benchmark

How much does n8n Cloud cost at 2,500, 10,000, and 50,000 executions a month?

Cloud prices the allowance. Starter (annual) is $20/mo, billed annually, for 2,500 production executions a month, and Pro (annual) is $50/mo, billed annually, for 10,000 production executions a month. Currency USD, checked Oct 19, 2026. Self-hosting prices the server. Community Edition is free, so you pay for the box at renewal, not the first term. Which is cheaper at renewal depends on your production-execution count, the server class your concurrency and payload need (a heuristic to test, plus the self-test), and domain, backups, and your time. The 50,000 Cloud price is not in the dataset.

A production execution is one automatic run of a workflow. An allowance is how many of those the Cloud plan includes. Renewal (steady state) is the price after the first term, not the intro price. Queue mode is a main instance plus workers, Postgres, and Redis. Locale basis stored with n8n Cloud: Starter $20 /mo, billed annually (US locale; EU visitors see 20€). Run your own numbers in the renewal-aware calculator. Server class comes from how much RAM and CPU n8n needs, then the self-test.

What counts as one n8n execution — do manual runs, sub-workflows, or empty polls count?

An execution is a single run of a workflow (understand executions, also the key concept glossary). On a paid plan, cloud or self-hosted, only production executions count toward the quota. Those are executions started automatically by triggers, schedules, or polling.

What counts

  • Schedule Trigger: one execution every time it fires, whatever the outcome.
  • Polling trigger: one execution only when new data is found. An empty poll does not count.
  • Webhook Trigger: one execution per inbound request that starts the workflow, including an empty {} body.

What does not count

  • Manual executions from the editor.
  • Sub-workflow executions. Only the parent, top-level execution counts.
  • Error-workflow runs.
  • Polls that return no data.
  • Malformed or rejected webhook requests that fail before the workflow starts.

n8n's pricing FAQ says the same thing in one line: an execution is a single run of the entire workflow, however many steps or however much data it processes (n8n pricing). Manual and test runs do not consume the Cloud quota, so they do not place you in a tier.

How to estimate your month

The pricing page's own method, not a different estimator: scheduled workflows count firings per month (a daily schedule is about 30 or 31; every five minutes is about 8,600–8,900). Webhooks count the triggering events per day. A chatbot counts conversations times messages. Place that production total in a guidepost below. The guideposts are labels, not plan walls.

Worked examples: what a schedule actually costs in executions

Decide Cloud vs self-hosted first. This section only turns a schedule into an execution count.

A Schedule Trigger counts one execution every time it fires, whatever the outcome (understand executions). Firings per day are 1,440 divided by the interval in minutes. A month is that daily count times the days in the month. The table prints a 28-day count, a 30-day count, and a 31-day count. It does not collapse them into one exact month. Those ranges line up with the estimator on n8n pricing: a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions, and every 5 minutes is about 8,600–8,900.

A Schedule Trigger that runs every 5 minutes fires 288 times a day, which is 1,440 divided by 5. Across a month that is 8,064 executions in 28 days, 8,640 in 30 days, and 8,928 in 31 days. That range is past Starter's 2,500 production executions a month and inside Pro's 10,000, and it matches n8n's pricing estimate of about 8,600–8,900 executions monthly.

Allowances and prices, in dataset order, from n8n Cloud. Starter (annual) is $20/mo first term and $20/mo renewal, billed annually, 12-month term, for 2,500 production executions a month, price checked Oct 19, 2026, allowance checked Oct 17, 2026. Pro (annual) is $50/mo first term and $50/mo renewal, billed annually, 12-month term, for 10,000 production executions a month, price checked Oct 19, 2026, allowance checked Oct 17, 2026. Currency basis: USD in the dataset. Dataset note: Starter $20 /mo, billed annually (US locale; EU visitors see 20€). Pro $50 /mo, billed annually (US locale; EU visitors see 50€). A euro figure on the pricing page is not converted and is not mixed into these dollar prices. n8n Cloud at 50,000 executions a month: — / not yet verified. No plan in the dataset lists 50,000 executions a month. The pricing page's Business plan is labeled self-hosted only and is not a substitute. Enterprise is custom on that page and is not in the dataset. Source: prices.json, how we check prices, price changelog.

Schedule Trigger firings only. Each row is a range across 28, 30, and 31 days, not one exact month. Estimator re-read .
Interval Firings/day 28-day month 30-day month 31-day month Tier reading
Every 1 minute 1,440 40,320 43,200 44,640 Past Pro (10,000) . 50,000 Cloud price: — / not yet verified. No plan in the dataset lists 50,000 executions a month. The pricing page's Business plan is labeled self-hosted only and is not a substitute. Enterprise is custom on that page and is not in the dataset. 10,000 table 50,000 table
Every 5 minutes 288 8,064 8,640 8,928 Past Starter (2,500) ; inside Pro (10,000) . Matches n8n's about 8,600–8,900. 2,500 table 10,000 table
Every 15 minutes 96 2,688 2,880 2,976 Just past Starter (2,500) in every month length. 2,500 table 10,000 table
Every 30 minutes 48 1,344 1,440 1,488 Inside Starter (2,500) . 2,500 table
Every hour 24 672 720 744 Inside Starter (2,500) . 2,500 table
Daily 1 28 30 31 Inside Starter (2,500) — matches n8n's 30 or 31. 2,500 table

A trigger that polls every 5 minutes checks 288 times a day, but it counts an execution only when it finds new data, so its billed count is the number of polls that found data, not 8,064–8,928. If it finds data on every poll, it counts like the every-5-minutes schedule row; if it usually finds nothing, it counts far fewer — your execution log is the count.

A Webhook Trigger counts one execution for every inbound request that activates the trigger, including a request with an empty {} body. Malformed requests that fail before the workflow starts do not count. Your month is your own daily count of those requests, times 28, 30, or 31 days. This page does not supply a typical webhook volume.

If you self-host this volume, size the box on how much RAM and CPU n8n needs. The count does not pick a server.

These rows are labels, not plan walls. Put your own interval, or your own daily webhook count, into the renewal-aware calculator as production executions per month.

How the comparison is made

Cloud cost is the plan whose included production-execution allowance covers the tier, at its renewal price. Where this dataset's Cloud renewal matches the annual monthly price, that figure is the steady state. Self-hosted cost is the starting class's verified plans at renewal. The first term is a context column. Hidden costs stay on their own rows and are never folded into a plan price. Per 1,000 executions is the renewal price divided by the tier in thousands: allowance arithmetic or server only, not a measured cost per execution, and not an efficiency benchmark.

This page compares published prices and allowances. It is not a benchmark: no plan here is claimed to handle a tier until your self-test says so.

  1. Count production executions, then sit that count next to a guidepost: 2,500, 10,000, or 50,000 a month.
  2. Check the other Cloud limits that are actually in the dataset: concurrency and max active workflows. Execution-log retention is described on the pricing page and is not stored here, so no retention figure is quoted.
  3. Pick a starting class from the sizing guide and confirm it with the self-test. Architecture (one instance, or queue mode) comes before size. There is no verified 2 GB plan. The step after 1 GB in this dataset is the 4 GB class. This page does not invent a 2 GB row.
  4. Price that class at renewal over your horizon. Add domain, backups, and time as their own rows.

What does self-hosting n8n really cost per month once the first term ends?

It costs the server's renewal price, plus whatever you add for a domain, backups, and your time. Community Edition is free under n8n's Sustainable Use License, so the licence itself is not a line on this page. The first-term price is the introduction. Where the dataset has no renewal, the monthly steady-state cell is an em dash. A paid self-hosted licence is a separate, optional line, and only if you need paid features. It is not in the dataset, so it is not priced here. Verify it at n8n pricing if you need it.

Executions a month do not size the server. Ten thousand spread across the month is about 14 an hour. The same ten thousand as a webhook burst is a different problem. Concurrency, payload, workflow shape, and queue mode decide. Each class below is a starting point to test, with the trigger to move up, and it points at the self-test. Heuristic to test

True cost at 2,500 executions a month Heuristic to test

Light single-instance work, SQLite, in the ~0.5–1 GB class if executions are spread out, concurrency is low, payloads are small, and Code nodes are few. If the work is bursty, file-heavy, or Code-heavy, start toward the 4 GB class instead. The monthly total does not overrule the shape. Move up when the self-test still fails after the sizing guide's fix-it-first steps, or when peak runs overlap. Of the 2,500-tier examples, DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 512 MiB at $4/mo, Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB (Regular) at $5/mo, and Linode (Akamai) Nanode 1GB at $5/mo are in the US-dollar set at $5/mo or less on the first-term price. That is set membership, not a claim that the plan is adequate, and not a ranking by renewal. Euro prices are not converted. See n8n hosting under $5 and free n8n hosting for the $0-model caveats. Cheapest way to host n8n is about an adequate plan at renewal, not the lowest first term.

Disclosure: Some host links below are affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. Prices and order are not affected.

Heuristic to test — server class is not a benchmark. Prices checked Oct 19, 2026. Renewal shown. An em dash means not verified. Currencies are not converted. Per 1,000 is price ÷ (2,500 ÷ 1,000): allowance arithmetic or server only, not a measured cost per execution.
Option Monthly (steady state) 12 mo at steady state Per 1,000 (arithmetic only) Checked
n8n Cloud Starter (annual) 2,500 production executions included, 5 concurrent, 2,500 max active workflows. Published allowance, not a server-class heuristic. Locale basis: Starter $20 /mo, billed annually (US locale; EU visitors see 20€). $20 renewal (first term $20/mo, annual) $240 at renewal $8.00 (allowance arithmetic) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~512 MB example: DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 512 MiB Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 512 MB RAM, 10 GB disk, 500 GiB bandwidth. $4 renewal (first term $4/mo, per-second) $48 at renewal $1.60 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~1 GB example: DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 1 GiB Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 25 GB disk, 1,000 GiB bandwidth. $6 renewal (first term $6/mo, per-second) $72 at renewal $2.40 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~1 GB example: Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB (Regular) Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 25 GB SSD, 1024 GB bandwidth. Visit $5 renewal (first term $5/mo, hourly) $60 at renewal $2.00 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~1 GB example: Linode (Akamai) Nanode 1GB Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 25 GB disk, 1000 GB bandwidth. $5 renewal (first term $5/mo, hourly) $60 at renewal $2.00 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~1 GB example: Sliplane Starter EUR list, no conversion. Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 1 GB RAM, 20 GB disk. Euro price. Not converted into dollars.One-click n8n: Sliplane's n8n page says "Deploy the n8n preset with just 1 click" (https://sliplane.io/n8n-hosting, read 2026-10-19). It is a container preset on Sliplane's platform, not a VPS image. €9 renewal (first term €9/mo, hourly (monthly figure shown)) €108 at renewal €3.60 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Domain + TLS Not verified. Calculator input domain_per_year (your registrar's renewal, not its first-year promo). — — — —
Backups Included or not verified per plan below. External backups are calculator input backups_per_month. No default amount. — — — —
Your time Formula: your hours/mo × your rate. No rate is claimed. Calculator inputs ops_hours_per_month and hourly_rate, blank by default. — — — —

Peak concurrent executions? n8n Cloud Starter (annual) publishes 5 concurrent, checked Oct 19, 2026. Max active workflows on this plan: 2,500. A reader whose month arrives as many webhooks at once has a concurrency problem, not a price problem. Compare your peak with that figure, then run the self-test.

At 2,500 production executions a month, Cloud's premium is the gap between $20 at renewal and the renewal of the server that passes your self-test. What that premium buys, as published, is no server to administer and 5 concurrent on the Cloud plan. The self-hosted rows are the server at renewal, plus domain, backups, and your time as separate lines. This is the delta and what it is for. It is not a winner.

Run your own numbers for this guidepost in the renewal-aware calculator. Hidden-cost fields start blank.

At 10,000 executions a month, is n8n Cloud or a VPS cheaper, including renewal? Heuristic to test

Heuristic to test, not a benchmark: the verified 4 GB class (Hostinger KVM 1, OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027), and netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s) is a candidate for steady small-team production on one box, not a measured capacity for 10,000 executions. The 1 GB class remains a floor if your self-test passes there. Move up, or change architecture first, when the self-test fails on 4 GB after those fixes, or when concurrency queues for too long. That second case is queue mode, not automatically more RAM.

Heuristic to test — server class is not a benchmark. Prices checked Oct 19, 2026. Renewal shown. An em dash means not verified. Currencies are not converted. Per 1,000 is price ÷ (10,000 ÷ 1,000): allowance arithmetic or server only, not a measured cost per execution.
Option Monthly (steady state) 12 mo at steady state Per 1,000 (arithmetic only) Checked
n8n Cloud Pro (annual) 10,000 production executions included, up to 50 concurrent, 25,000 max active workflows. Published allowance, not a server-class heuristic. Locale basis: Pro $50 /mo, billed annually (US locale; EU visitors see 50€). $50 renewal (first term $50/mo, annual) $600 at renewal $5.00 (allowance arithmetic) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~4 GB example: Hostinger KVM 1 Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 1 vCPU, 4 GB RAM, 50 GB NVMe, 4 TB bandwidth. Renewal term in the dataset: 24 months.First-term length is not in the dataset, so this row does not publish a blended total. Visit $11.99 renewal (+85%) (first term $6.49/mo, prepaid term — do not headline the first term) $143.88 at renewal $1.20 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~4 GB example: OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027) Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 2 vCore, 4 GB RAM, 40 GB NVMe. n8n comes preinstalled on Debian 12. You manage the server after install; this is not managed n8n. Daily backup is included at no extra charge. Renewal price is not verified yet. A 6-month commitment option exists; its price is not listed here. The calculator uses the 12-month upfront price. — renewal not verified (first term $4.54/mo (12-month upfront) · $5.35/mo no commitment) — — (renewal unknown) Oct 17, 2026
Self-hosted, ~4 GB example: netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s EUR list, no conversion. Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 2 vCore, 4 GB RAM, 80 GB SSD. Euro price. Not converted into dollars.Snapshots are included. That is not a daily backup. There is no official n8n preinstall, so you install n8n yourself. The listed price includes 19% VAT (about €4.92 ex-VAT). Minimum contract and billing period is 6 months. netcup's pages do not state a renewal price. The VPS Lite page's general line about no price increases after the first year is not a stated renewal price, so the renewal is not verified here (checked 2026-10-19). — renewal not verified (first term €5.86/mo) — — (renewal unknown) Oct 19, 2026
Domain + TLS Not verified. Calculator input domain_per_year (your registrar's renewal, not its first-year promo). — — — —
Backups Included or not verified per plan below. External backups are calculator input backups_per_month. No default amount. — — — —
Your time Formula: your hours/mo × your rate. No rate is claimed. Calculator inputs ops_hours_per_month and hourly_rate, blank by default. — — — —

Peak concurrent executions? n8n Cloud Pro (annual) publishes up to 50 concurrent, checked Oct 19, 2026. Max active workflows on this plan: 25,000. A reader whose month arrives as many webhooks at once has a concurrency problem, not a price problem. Compare your peak with that figure, then run the self-test.

Hostinger KVM 1 is $6.49/mo for the first term and $11.99/mo at renewal (+85%). The dataset lists a renewal term of 24 months, and the first-term length is not recorded. The two monthly prices stay side by side. This page does not publish a blended total.

OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027): renewal not verified. First term $4.54/mo (12-month upfront) · $5.35/mo no commitment is context only and is not copied into the steady-state cell.

netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s: renewal not verified. First term €5.86/mo is context only and is not copied into the steady-state cell.

Run your own numbers for this guidepost in the renewal-aware calculator. Hidden-cost fields start blank.

True cost at 50,000 executions a month Heuristic to test

There is no starting GB from the monthly number. Queue mode comes first: one main instance, at least one worker, Postgres, and Redis. Worker --concurrency defaults to 10, and n8n recommends 5 or higher per worker. There is no workers-per-GB figure. Purchasable examples in the dataset, not a capacity claim: Hostinger KVM 2 (8 GB), Hostinger KVM 4 (16 GB), and Contabo Cloud VPS 4 (8 GB). Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. The mechanics are the sizing guide's, from enable queue mode and queue-mode environment variables: Redis holds a large webhook response in flight, and the budget is about 1.5 times the 64 MiB default per response. That is a Redis note, not an n8n RAM requirement. Step up only after the self-test says the current box fails.

Heuristic to test — server class is not a benchmark. Prices checked Oct 19, 2026. Renewal shown. An em dash means not verified. Currencies are not converted. Per 1,000 is price ÷ (50,000 ÷ 1,000): allowance arithmetic or server only, not a measured cost per execution.
Option Monthly (steady state) 12 mo at steady state Per 1,000 (arithmetic only) Checked
n8n Cloud Allowance covering 50,000 production executions/mo — not yet verified in the dataset. Business and Enterprise are custom allowances, not a published 50,000 price. This dash is not zero. No executions-per-month allowance in the dataset covers this tier. Nothing is derived from another plan. — (not yet verified) — — (not verified) —
Self-hosted, ~8 GB example: Hostinger KVM 2 Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 2 vCPU, 8 GB RAM, 100 GB NVMe, 8 TB bandwidth. Renewal term in the dataset: 24 months.First-term length is not in the dataset, so this row does not publish a blended total. Visit $14.99 renewal (+71%) (first term $8.79/mo, prepaid term — do not headline the first term) $179.88 at renewal $0.30 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~16 GB example: Hostinger KVM 4 Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 4 vCPU, 16 GB RAM, 200 GB NVMe, 16 TB bandwidth. Renewal term in the dataset: 24 months.First-term length is not in the dataset, so this row does not publish a blended total. $28.99 renewal (+123%) (first term $12.99/mo, prepaid term — do not headline the first term) $347.88 at renewal $0.58 (server only) Oct 19, 2026
Self-hosted, ~8 GB example: Contabo Cloud VPS 4 Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. 4 vCPU, 8 GB RAM, 100 GB SSD, unlimited traffic, 200 Mbit/s, incoming unmetered, fair-use. Needs review: parse failed.One snapshot is included. A snapshot is not a backup. Automatic backup is not listed as included or as an add-on: the official pages contradict each other, so it stays unverified. The renewal price is not published. Specs checked 2026-10-17 from https://contabo.com/en-us/pricing/. — renewal not published (first term $5.28/mo) — — (renewal unknown) Oct 16, 2026
Domain + TLS Not verified. Calculator input domain_per_year (your registrar's renewal, not its first-year promo). — — — —
Backups Included or not verified per plan below. External backups are calculator input backups_per_month. No default amount. — — — —
Your time Formula: your hours/mo × your rate. No rate is claimed. Calculator inputs ops_hours_per_month and hourly_rate, blank by default. — — — —

No verified Cloud concurrency covers 50,000 production executions a month. Ask what your peak concurrent executions are, then use the sizing guide's self-test. A monthly total does not answer a concurrency problem.

One VPS running the main process, workers, Postgres, and Redis is the single-box form of queue mode. If you split those services, each extra box is another verified plan from the dataset, priced when you add it. It is not an assumed extra figure.

The per-1,000 server figure falls as the tier rises because a flat renewal is divided by a larger number. That arithmetic does not say the box passes the self-test at that concurrency or payload. It is not a headline for what 50,000 executions cost.

The Cloud cell in this table is blank on purpose. No plan in the dataset covers 50,000 production executions a month. It gets a price only when that allowance is checked into the dataset, with currency, locale, and billing. It will not be copied from another tier.

Run your own numbers for this guidepost in the renewal-aware calculator. Hidden-cost fields start blank.

Plans that are not a fixed server price in these tables

Usage-based, free-tier, and managed plans stay described as that model. They are not given a RAM class, and they are not given a fixed monthly server cost in the tables above. How we check prices is why a missing field stays missing.

  • Hostinger Managed n8n: managed n8n, $5.99/mo on a 24-month term · $7.99/mo on a 12-month term · $10.99/mo on a 1-month term. No verified RAM or vCPU, so it is not a size example. Separate from the KVM one-click VPS plans. Managed deployment with automatic software updates and security, in an isolated Docker environment. Rolling out by region. Specs and backups are not verified, so they are not listed.
  • Elestio Managed n8n (from): managed, $11/mo renewal. The provider sizes it. Not a tier-table row.
  • Render Hobby: plus compute. $0/mo is not a fixed server bill. See free n8n hosting.
  • Railway Hobby: usage-based. $5/mo is a floor, not the bill, and it is not a row in the tables. Usage pricing, not a RAM or vCPU allocation: egress is $0.05/GB (re-checked 2026-10-19 on https://docs.railway.com/pricing/plans). Regions: US-West, US-East, EU-West (Amsterdam), and SG (not re-checked on 2026-10-19). Sources: https://railway.com/pricing and https://docs.railway.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-17.
  • Oracle Cloud Always Free: free tier. Two Always Free shapes are published: E2.1.Micro (1 GB) and A1.Flex ARM (up to 12 GB total). This row is not split by shape, and those figures are not stored as RAM. Source: https://docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/FreeTier/freetier_topic-Always_Free_Resources.htm, checked 2026-10-17. Not a size example and not a tier-table row.
  • Hetzner Cloud CPX02: price and specs are on its host page and in the price table. This page's worked examples do not model Hetzner.

Compare the boxes head to head

The Hetzner comparisons take Hetzner's price and specs from the price table. This page does not model Hetzner in its worked examples. Best n8n hosting is the page for which kind of host, after this page's volume question.

What are the hidden costs of self-hosting n8n besides the server?

Each line is verified from the dataset, left as an em dash, or left for you to type into the calculator. No default dollar amount is filled in here.

Domain and TLS

A self-hosted instance needs a domain or subdomain for webhook URLs and HTTPS. Cloud includes its hosted endpoint. Registrar and TLD prices are not verified on this site, so none is quoted. The cell is an em dash. Calculator input: domain_per_year, your registrar's renewal, not its first-year promo.

Backups

Backup inclusion is whatever the dataset note says for that plan. A snapshot is not a backup. External backup storage, including S3-compatible storage for queue-mode binary data, is named and not priced. Cloud backups are provider-managed. Retention limits are on the pricing page's executions-and-limits table and are not stored in this dataset, so no retention number is quoted.

  • DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 512 MiB: — / not verified
  • DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 1 GiB: — / not verified
  • Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB (Regular): — / not verified
  • Linode (Akamai) Nanode 1GB: — / not verified
  • Sliplane Starter: — / not verified
  • Hostinger KVM 1: — / not verified
  • OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027): Daily backup included at no extra charge (dataset note).
  • netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s: Snapshots included. That is not a daily backup (dataset note).
  • Hostinger KVM 2: — / not verified
  • Hostinger KVM 4: — / not verified
  • Contabo Cloud VPS 4: One snapshot included. A snapshot is not a backup. Automatic backup is not verified (dataset note).

Calculator input: backups_per_month, your provider, blank by default.

Your time

The work is real: install and hardening, Docker and n8n updates, Postgres and Redis in queue mode, monitoring, execution-data pruning, backup restore tests, and the incident when a run runs out of memory at peak. This site has no measured hours and no hourly rate, so it claims neither. The formula is your hours/mo × your rate. At any non-trivial value of your time, time is the largest self-hosted line, and Cloud's premium is substantially a payment to not do that work. Any numbers in that sentence are yours to change. Calculator inputs: ops_hours_per_month and hourly_rate, both blank by default. Blank means time is counted at $0 and the line says so.

Taxes and VAT

Each row keeps the basis stored for that plan. Nothing here is normalised into a second "true" tax price. Cloud locale stays the dataset note above, not a silent mix of dollars and euros.

  • DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 512 MiB: Tax basis: not included. per-second
  • DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 1 GiB: Tax basis: not included. per-second
  • Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB (Regular): Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. hourly
  • Linode (Akamai) Nanode 1GB: Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. hourly
  • Sliplane Starter: Tax basis: not included. hourly (monthly figure shown)
  • Hostinger KVM 1: Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. prepaid term
  • OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027): Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. 12-month upfront or no commitment
  • netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s: Tax basis: included (6-month minimum, incl. 19% VAT (~€4.92 ex-VAT)). 6-month minimum, incl. 19% VAT (~€4.92 ex-VAT)
  • Hostinger KVM 2: Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. prepaid term
  • Hostinger KVM 4: Tax basis: not stated in the dataset. prepaid term
  • Contabo Cloud VPS 4: Tax basis: included (prepaid 24-month term). prepaid 24-month term
  • Hostinger Managed n8n: Tax basis: not included (excl. taxes). 24-month term

Paid self-hosted licence

Community Edition is free. You pay for the server, plus the lines on this page. Business and Enterprise self-hosted features are a licence on top of the server, only if you need them. That licence is not in the dataset, so it is not priced and it is not inside the self-hosted totals. Calculator input, if you later have a figure: other_per_month.

Migration

Moving workflows, credentials, and the encryption key is a one-off, and it is your time. It is not amortised into the monthly tables. Calculator input: one_off_migration_hours, shown beside the monthly totals, not inside them.

At what execution volume does self-hosting n8n become cheaper than Cloud?

There is no execution volume above which self-hosting always costs less. That claim would need your time valuation and a benchmark this site does not have.

If your time is worth $0 to you and your self-test passes on DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 512 MiB, the server-only difference at 2,500 production executions a month is $20 − $4 = $16/mo, Cloud above the server at renewal. Arithmetic on those two dataset fields only. Recompute it when you value your time.

If your time is worth $0 to you and your self-test passes on DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 1 GiB, the server-only difference at 2,500 production executions a month is $20 − $6 = $14/mo, Cloud above the server at renewal. Arithmetic on those two dataset fields only. Recompute it when you value your time.

If your time is worth $0 to you and your self-test passes on Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB (Regular), the server-only difference at 2,500 production executions a month is $20 − $5 = $15/mo, Cloud above the server at renewal. Arithmetic on those two dataset fields only. Recompute it when you value your time.

If your time is worth $0 to you and your self-test passes on Linode (Akamai) Nanode 1GB, the server-only difference at 2,500 production executions a month is $20 − $5 = $15/mo, Cloud above the server at renewal. Arithmetic on those two dataset fields only. Recompute it when you value your time.

Euro prices are not subtracted from a dollar Cloud price. Sliplane Starter stays on its own currency row.

If your time is worth $0 to you and your self-test passes on Hostinger KVM 1, the server-only difference at 10,000 production executions a month is $50 − $11.99 = $38.01/mo, Cloud above the server at renewal. Arithmetic on those two dataset fields only. Recompute it when you value your time. Heuristic to test, not a benchmark: the verified 4 GB class (Hostinger KVM 1, OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027), and netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s) is a candidate for steady small-team production on one box, not a measured capacity for 10,000 executions. The 1 GB class remains a floor if your self-test passes there.

No server-only delta is published for OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027) at 10,000 production executions a month, because renewal not verified.

No server-only delta is published for netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s at 10,000 production executions a month, because renewal not verified.

No Cloud-minus-server delta is published at 50,000 production executions a month. The Cloud allowance for that count is not in the dataset, so there is no number to subtract from.

A box that runs out of memory at peak is not cheaper. It is broken. These comparisons apply only to a class that passes the self-test.

Put your hours, your rate, and your plan into the renewal-aware calculator. The self-test decides whether the class in that total is a server you can actually run.

Comparing against Zapier or Make instead of n8n Cloud? Zapier and Make vs self-hosted n8n prices one workflow at the same three volumes.

FAQ

What counts as one n8n execution?
An execution is a single run of a workflow. On paid plans, only production executions count toward the quota: runs started by a trigger, a schedule, or polling. Manual editor runs, sub-workflow runs (only the parent counts), error-workflow runs, polls that find no data, and malformed webhook requests that fail before the workflow starts do not count. Checked against n8n's execution docs on 2026-10-18.
Is n8n Cloud or a VPS cheaper at 10,000 executions a month?
At 10,000 production executions a month, n8n Cloud Pro (annual) is $50/mo at renewal (annual). Heuristic to test, not a benchmark: the verified 4 GB class (Hostinger KVM 1, OVHcloud VPS-1 (2027), and netcup VPS Lite 1 G12.5s) is a candidate for steady small-team production on one box, not a measured capacity for 10,000 executions. The 1 GB class remains a floor if your self-test passes there. Where a server's renewal is not in the dataset, that cell is an em dash, not the first-term price. Your time can outweigh the server. Heuristic to test. Prices checked Oct 19, 2026.
Why is the renewal price used instead of the first-term price?
The first term is an introduction. The steady state is the renewal. Hostinger KVM 1 is $6.49/mo for the first term and $11.99/mo at renewal (+85%). Where renewal is missing, the steady-state cell is an em dash. The first term is not copied in, and it is not treated as zero.
What server do I need for 50,000 executions a month?
There is no starting GB from the monthly number. Queue mode comes first: one main instance, at least one worker, Postgres, and Redis. Worker --concurrency defaults to 10, and n8n recommends 5 or higher per worker. There is no workers-per-GB figure. Purchasable examples in the dataset, not a capacity claim: Hostinger KVM 2 (8 GB), Hostinger KVM 4 (16 GB), and Contabo Cloud VPS 4 (8 GB). Heuristic to test — not a benchmark. Add a worker, move a service off the box, or step up a class only after the self-test says the current box fails.
What hidden costs should I add?
Domain and TLS (no figure verified here), backups (included only where the dataset note says so; otherwise an em dash), your time (hours per month times your rate, with no rate claimed), tax basis as stored per plan, a paid self-hosted licence only if you need paid features (not priced in the dataset), and one-off migration time. None of these is folded into a plan's renewal price.
Why is the 50,000 Cloud price blank?
The dataset has no plan whose executions-per-month allowance covers 50,000. The pricing page's Business plan is labeled self-hosted only and is not a substitute. Enterprise is custom on that page and is not in the dataset. The cell is an em dash until a checked allowance is in the dataset. It is not derived from another tier, and it is not zero.
My workflow runs every 5 minutes — how many executions is that?
A Schedule Trigger that runs every 5 minutes fires 288 times a day, which is 1,440 divided by 5. Across a month that is 8,064 executions in 28 days, 8,640 in 30 days, and 8,928 in 31 days. That range is past Starter's 2,500 production executions a month and inside Pro's 10,000, and it matches n8n's pricing estimate of about 8,600–8,900 executions monthly.

Prices: prices.json (last checked ). How checks work: methodology. Prices this month: n8n hosting prices — October 2026. Monthly price snapshots. Sizing: how much RAM and CPU n8n needs. Price changelog.

Execution counting re-read at understand executions and n8n pricing.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects the prices we show or how hosts are ranked.

Get price alerts

Get the monthly "n8n hosting price changes" email

One short email a month covering price changes, new hosts, and renewal traps. Free, and you can unsubscribe anytime.